Oola: My Journey of Self-Discovery and Balance – June 13: Courage

How many times have we thought to ourselves, “Someday I’ll be brave enough to do that” or “Someday I’ll say what I need to say when I need to say it”? The problem with “someday” is that it never gets here. “Someday” is always just beyond our reach. We keep moving that horizon because we’re afraid. Maybe we are afraid of failing, or maybe we are afraid of what other people might think or say. Maybe we are afraid that we will succeed.

For me, I’m most afraid of succeeding. That sounds strange I know, but stay with me. If I fail, it means that I tried, found what needed to be corrected, and continued working. I’m getting too mature (rather than old because maturity is a state of being not an age) to worry so much about the opinion of others who do not have my journey. However, if I succeed, if I reach my goal and “someday” becomes “today”, then I have to choose a new goal and start again. It’s not starting over because I’m not negating the progress I’ve made. It’s starting again with a new starting point further down my road and a whole new set of challenges and obstacles to overcome.

Success is far scarier than failure because when you succeed, you have one less excuse to keep you from trying. When you succeed, and are gracious and humble about it, you gain support from friends and family. How horrible to have all this support from people who know that you are capable of great things!!??!! It’s scary because they won’t let you give up even when your dreams become difficult and complicated. Success is scary because you start to believe in yourself which might be uncomfortable at first after not believing for so long.

But you know what? Every success you have makes you stronger and more courageous. Does that mean that you should set a goal to climb a mountain or jump out of an airplane? Not unless one of those is an actual goal you have. Start small. Try setting a budget for the week instead of the month if that task is too daunting. Try walking for seven minutes without stopping instead of running for 30 minutes. Try saying one positive thing to yourself a day for a week and build from there.

Once you start, you will see how fulfilling it is to find success, and the courage you need to set a new goal or begin new projects won’t be out of reach. Yes, you might fail, but learn from it and get moving. Yes, people will probably still have something to say about what you do. Some of it will be positive, and some of it will be negative. They aren’t you. You are the only one living in your skin, and your opinion of you is the only one that will be with you always. So start changing it now.

Yes, it will be scary sometimes. If it wasn’t, you wouldn’t need courage, but do it anyway and watch “someday” become “today”.

Today, I had to be brave enough, just for 20 seconds, to do what was right for me in that moment. I had to be honest with myself and the other person. I had to recognize that I couldn’t wait for them to be ready for me. I couldn’t put my life on hold because they might be ready in the future. So, I had to tell them that I couldn’t wait but when they were ready if I was still around, then maybe. Was it scary? Oh my, yes. Did I do it anyway? I did. I was courageous just long enough to do what needed to be done. Next time I’m faced with a similar situation, I think I’ll be braver for longer.

Courage is being afraid but standing up and doing what needs to be done even in the face of that fear. So, who needs “someday”? If you can’t stop the days from coming at you, you might as well fill them with all the courage you can muster and chase your dreams.

 

 

To start your own challenge, check out the Oola For Women challenge and Oola Life website.

 

Leave a Reply

