Oola: My Journey of Self-Discovery and Balance – June 10: Faith

Today, I’m focusing on faith – what it is and why it’s important. I will do my best to present the information as accurately and as fairly as possible. However, I am human. My preferences are likely to bleed through the sentences. This is my journey after all.

Faith is a strong belief and trust in something even when there is no proof for it. When we talk about faith, we are most often talking about a belief in God with a capital “G” and the foundation for many of the world’s religions. But faith is much older than religions. If you have studied, even in the abstract, any of the ancient or aboriginal societies, you will find they all had a system of belief – a faith in something greater than themselves.

Faith is important because it allows us to take chances – on ourselves, on our relationships, on our future. Faith gives us the hope and strength we need to continue when we think we can’t. It allows us to let go of our stress and worry and fear. Having faith doesn’t mean that you don’t have to take action. Having faith actually gives you the confidence you need to move your mountains (even if they are molehills). Faith in something bigger than you gives you a sense of peace about situations even when your world is falling apart. Without faith, the world would be much more bleak.

For me, faith is something I need to practice more regularly. I have been negligent of my prayer time because I had become disillusioned. That’s not to say that I don’t pray. I just haven’t prayed as regularly as I used to. I made some poor choices in my life and trusted the wrong people. It caused me to become hurt, somewhat bitter, and closed off. I didn’t want to pray for myself because I believed I wasn’t worth it. I prayed in earnest for my friends who were in need. I prayed for safe travels for myself when I went places or had to drive in the rain. I just didn’t pray regularly.

Today my challenge was to pray very specifically about something that has been on my mind. That doesn’t sound too challenging, right? It should take three minutes max to whip up a prayer; after all, I have been praying for my friend who has been in the hospital. I even wrote a prayer on her Facebook page. The challenge, however, was to pray about a situation, any situation, every time I thought about it. That, my friends, was much more challenging. It meant that as soon as i thought about something, I had to stop what I was doing to pray about it. Once I started praying about one situation, other situations or previous situations would come to mind.

I probably spent a grand total of 60 minutes praying today. It doesn’t sound like much when you recall that there are 24 hours in a day, but remember that I prayed every time a situation came to mind. That means I prayed a minimum of 12 times today which is far more praying than I have done in a long time.

Do you know what I realized? I realized that I was calmer and had a greater sense of peace about my life because I wasn’t just praying for my friend in the hospital. I began to pray for my family for different reasons. I prayed for myself and my job. I even prayed about making better choices in the people I allow into my life.

Is God really out there watching over us? I believe He is. This is my faith, and I am working on it all the time. You don’t have to believe in God. You can have faith in a greater cosmic being, the gods of the ancient worlds, or whatever you choose. Just have faith in something because faith is what gives us the hope we need in a world of disillusionment, distrust, and disbelief.

 

To start your own challenge, check out the Oola For Women challenge and Oola Life website.

Leave a Reply

