Obi Wan Kenobi, You’re My Only Hope

We all have friends we can rely on for just about anything. These are friends who have been there for us through thick and thin. Friends who, despite time and distance, pick up a conversation as though it never ended – Forever Friends.

There are also those friends you know that you could never ask for anything. These are the friends whom you love and enjoy their company, but you know they would never follow through or would hold it against you – Casual Friends

And then there are those friends who fall somewhere in the middle. You have deep conversations with these friends and share pieces of your lives – your likes, your dislikes, your ups, your downs. You might have the occasional disagreement but for the most part the relationship with these friends stays light and easy; it’s a delicate balance – Dear Friends.

Therein lies my dilemma. I want something that only one of my Dear Friends could help me obtain, but if I ask, our friendship would never be the same. It wouldn’t matter if the answer was “Yes” or “No” because just posing the question would change things – not drastically but enough to make me hesitant.

I know what you’re thinking: Why don’t I ask a Forever Friend? I could, but I don’t have anyone in that group who is available. I’ve discussed that Casual Friends are unreliable. That leaves the Dear Friends.

So, what would you do if you were me? Do you ask the Dear Friend knowing that your relationship will change because you asked?  Or never say anything and always wonder what the answer would have been? Do you risk losing a Dear Friend over something you want, not need but want?

Leave a Reply

