That’s Impossible

What is impossible? According to several dictionaries, impossible is defined as “unable to occur, exist, or be done.” While that is a valid definition, I submit that it is only a partial definition. As I have said before, my goal is to change “impossible” into “I’m possible.” Therefore, this week’s entry will focus on the one word missing from the current definition: yet.

Redefining Impossible

I think the revised definition should read as follows: impossible – unable to occur, exist, or be done yet. And here’s why. After some early research for this article, I have come to the conclusion that something is only impossible until it is not. What I mean is that impossible is just a matter of time, understanding and trial and error. Remember that the only difference between impossible and possible is I’m and space. For example, when faced with a problem that seems as though it can’t be solved, say to yourself “I’m determined to solve this” or “I’m going to find the answer.” Then give yourself the space to work out the solution. You might need to take a break, fail several times, or ask for help. But ultimately, you will find your “I’m possible” breakthrough.

When the great inventors and scientists didn’t understand something or wanted to improve a situation, they persevered until they succeeded. So, to help encourage you this week (and myself because this is proving a rather daunting task), I’m including a list of things that were once considered impossible but have now been achieved or surpassed today.

The Impossible List

Walking on the moon

Climbing Mount Everest

Moving Pictures/Films

The Brooklyn Bridge

Automobiles

Elevators

The end of Apartheid in South Africa

Swimming the English Channel

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

In vitro fertilization

Prosthetic Body Parts

Real-time Communication with people around the world

Tower Bridge in London

 

Don’t Give  Up

I don’t know about you, but I am planning to persevere until I my impossible is possible. I’ll just keep telling myself that the solution is “yet” to come. As Audrey Hepburn said, “Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible’!”

 

One thought on “That’s Impossible

Leave a Reply

